Lady GaGa First on Planet Earth to Reach 18 Million Followers on Twitter

Author: Sahil Shaikh
Published: February 06, 2012 at 5:31 am
Share

Pop star Lady GaGa has become the first person ever to get 18 million followers on Micro-Blogging site Twitter. During the last year, she became the first person to reach 10 million followers on Twitter.

Lady GaGa is almost two million fans ahead of Canadian Pop star Justin Bieber, who is the second most-followed on Twitter just after GaGa. Justin Bieber has 16 million fans following him.

This week GaGa tweeted : "Can't believe I have 18,000,000 Twitter Monsters, really rad, was just a few years ago I had barely any."

Lady Gaga is recognized for her flamboyant, diverse and outré contributions to the music industry through fashion, performance and music videos. She has sold an estimated 23 million albums and 64 million singles worldwide,making herself one of the best-selling music artists of all time and her singles some of the best-selling worldwide. Her achievements include four Guinness World Records, five Grammy Awards and 13 MTV Video Music Awards. Lady Gaga is named as  one of the most influential people in the world by Time magazine.

Let's go through the top 20 "Followed" personalities on Twitter.

( Statistics as on February 6 , 2012 ,5.00 pm IST)

Rank User @Username Followers Following Tweets
#1 Lady Gaga @ladygaga 18,897,727 139,972 1,249
#2 Justin Bieber @justinbieber 17,142,934 121,039 13,050
#3 Katy Perry @katyperry 14,692,756 82 3,705
#4
Shakira @shakira 13,637,516 42 1,243
#5 Kim Kardashian @KimKardashian 13,003,376 168 10,293
#6 Rihanna @rihanna 12,960,686 724 4,222
#7 Britney Spears @britneyspears 12,898,035 417,782 1,399
#8 Barack Obama @BarackObama 12,351,193 682,747 2,746
#9 Taylor Swift @taylorswift13 10,813,587 69 1,225
#10 Selena Gomez @selenagomez 10,132,097 699 1,990
#11 Ashton Kutcher @aplusk 9,397,715 685 7,362
#12 Ellen DeGeneres @TheEllenShow 9,242,173 47,721 5,478
#13 Oprah Winfrey @Oprah 9,095,443 40 1,851
#14 YouTube @YouTube 9,012,646 388 4,808
#15 Nicki Minaj @NICKIMINAJ 9,007,344 800 9,858
#16 Marshall Mathers @Eminem 8,828,786 0 176
#17 Kaka @KAKA 8,488,070 345 2,275
#18 Justin Timberlake @jtimberlake 8,287,376 21 655
#19 Twitter en español @twitter_es 8,052,869 31 558
#20 Chris Brown @chrisbrown 7,633,811 1,376 22

 
 

About this article

Profile image for sahilds

Article Author: Sahil Shaikh

Sahil Shaikh mostly known as Sahil Invincible is a Author/ Writer who works with Technorati-Blogcritics network. Sahil hails from India and he is 21 years old. He is a Information Technology/Computer graduate. …

Sahil Shaikh's author pageAuthor's Blog

Article Tags

Share: Bookmark and Share