New Facebook Phishing Scam Found

Author: Lucky Bhumkar
Published: June 17, 2011 at 5:17 am
Share

One suspected phishing link has been found on 16th May. However, thousands of users may be affected by this scam. Beware when you receive a wall post like:

“Hi Lucky (user name), Check out this new video on the president! I can’t believe this is finally happening! Are you excited as well??”

This post also contains a video thumbnail of USA president Barack Obama with heading

“The president is finally taking charge!!” with dummy link “statistics.mit.edu”

Phishing Post 

But in fact this redirects toward “http://goo.gl/7Lg0N” which contains the real phishing link named “http://www.fuizuebooks.com/update/index4.php”

 Phishing Site : Click to enlarge

Generally the user receives the message from friend who has already been hacked by the phishing link. The user receives this link even though their friend is not online. Domains who-is look up reveals that this phishing domain originated from China with Postal code 100176 of Beijing.

 Who-is Lookup of Phishing Domain

So beware Facebook user - always check the domain name in address bar with "https://www.facebook.com". Do not re-sign anywhere, when you already sign in for Facebook.

 
 

About this article

Profile image for luckybhumkar

Article Author: Lucky Bhumkar

Writing on Technology Gossips provides me an eccentric experience. If speaking about truth, I’m a garment manufacturer. I do not hold any computer science degree, but my hobby makes me a tech geek. Apart from Blogger and IT mentor, I work for my garment …

Lucky Bhumkar's author pageAuthor's Blog

Article Tags

Share: Bookmark and Share

Add your comment, speak your mind

Personal attacks are NOT allowed
Please read our comment policy